Coach Keith Allen Earns Coaching Honors

PaCoach Allen gets water dumped on himhokee coach Orson Walkes and King’s Academy coach Keith Allen went a combined 25-0 with two championships this season. Pahokee coach Orson Walkes, receiving an ice water bath after the Blue Devils clinched the state championship Dec. 8, was named the Florida Dairy Farmers’ Class 1A Football Coach of the Year Wednesday. (Photo by Allen Eyestone)

Wednesday, they were recognized by the Florida Dairy Farmers for their achievements.

Walkes, who led the Blue Devils to the Class 1A state championship and a 14-0 season, was named the Class 1A Coach of the Year following balloting by a statewide panel of high school football coaches and prep media representatives.

Allen, who led the Lions to the Southeastern Football Conference championship and an 11-0 overall record, was named the Independent Coach of the Year.

They will compete with seven other coaches – one per classification – for Florida Dairy Farmers’ Football Coach of the Year.

Here are the nine nominees:

Class 8A – Billy Rolle, Miami Southridge
Class 7A – O.J. Small, Robert E. Lee
Class 6A – Doug DeMyer, Lake Gibson
Class 5A – Matt Toblin, Ponte Vedra
Class 4A – Johnny Wilkinson, Cocoa
Class 3A – Dameon Jones, Hollywood-Chaminade Madonna
Class 2A – Dennis Marroquin, Hialeah-Champagnat Catholic
Class 1A – Orson Walkes, Pahokee
Independent – Keith Allen, King’s Academy